top of page

For The Kids: North Star Reach, a Medical Specialty Camp


The picture displayed here is the last time we were able to be in-person at camp. I remember that very moment this picture was taken and I am so glad someone was able to capture it. It was a hot week for Epilepsy Camp and I decided to take a stroll with Cayden down to the pool to check how things were going. Earlier in the day, the boy in the photo made a really meaningful interaction with Cayden at the dining hall, singing and making funny faces to make Cayden laugh. The boy swam over and reached out for Cayden, and Cayden reached back, instantly smiling from ear to ear. It was a moment of pure connection, joy and acknowledgement of each other. Moments, like these, are so simple, and yet they are pieces that create the bigger camp story. A story where kids are transformed and their lives are made more complete.


What exactly do I do? I am the Program Director for North Star Reach (NSR), a SeriousFun Children's Network Camp founded by Paul Newman. You see, this is not your typical camp; it is a camp for kids with serious medical conditions. There are kids who have received a transplant, have a congenital heart condition, some may have Sickle Cell disease, Epilepsy, a seizure disorder or Neuro-Oncology. We even offer a sibling camp, which is only for campers who have a sibling with a medical condition, so they too get a slice of camp. The best part is, we are only continuing to expand our offerings to children living with other conditions. We are located in Pinckney, Michigan, on 105-wooded acres, which I now call my second home. Did I mention all campers come here completely for FREE!? We offer six summer sessions (each dedicated to a specific medical condition), and family camps during the fall and spring. We also offer a Family Care Conference, Camper Meetups on Zoom and Parent & Caregiver Support Groups to help support our parents that continue to be warriors for their children (and we are only getting started...we have so much more on the horizon!).


In-person or Zoom camper gatherings is my specialty. Being the Program Director, I am able to orchestrate what, how and the intentionality behind the programming. I, too, also have the opportunity to work with the children, which I am so grateful for. NSR offers opportunities for children to be outdoors, to explore, get creative, be messy and to be independent! Most importantly, in my opinion, we achieve our greatest calling for these children, which is to create opportunities for connections and to meet others exactly like them. It is rare for kids with the same medical condition to be together as a group and to share their own personal stories. NSR cultivates a community where children are able to be vulnerable and open up to one and another. Many of these campers will be lifelong friends, or come back to volunteer at NSR, and that is something completely priceless. For me personally, I am so grateful that my two boys, Cayden and Hudson, will be exposed to such a wonderful community, that is full of love, support, and dedication. I believe our campers teach more to the staff members than we could ever teach them. This may be a job, but I honestly love what I do, and there is no other place I want to be. I am proud to be able to offer so much for kids who need this special place in their lives. What we do on a daily basis is all for the kids.


We are FINALLY able to be back in-person this fall for our 2021 Fall Campily Retreat Weekends (with specific protocols navigating the challenges of COVID-19 and the Delta variant, of course). Nonetheless, I am excited to be able to create a place where families can congregate, continue to share their stories, and to feel somewhat back to normal. I have so very missed the sounds of children laughing, chanting, singing, and creating all sorts of memories together.


I could go on and on, but if you do have an extra moment, then please take a read of this article, "North Star Reach in Pinckney Rec Area is a Place Like No Other," an article by The Sun Times News written by Doug Marrin. It expands more on the meaning of camp for myself and the impacts it has on our campers and the staff. Ami Walsh, my inspirational co-staff and our Communications Director, also dives in with her history with camp and the meaning it has for her. Next week's blog will focus on the North Star Reach Interstellar 5k Trail Run / Walk on Saturday, October 2nd, 2021. This event has been a longtime dream of mine and I am in the process of making it a reality for our camp! If you feel like this place may be a good fit for you, feel free to reach out to our Volunteer Director Mike "Coach Parker," at mike@northstarreach.org.


I'll leave you with one of my favorite quotes from the article:


"Colleen describes one of the impacts that working with the children has had on her. “I have a great appreciation for the little things in life. When I’m home with my kids in the moment, I know these campers would give anything to have just a normal day at home. The campers have taught me the most precious things are found in the seemingly small moments of life.”"







bottom of page